Beans and rice are nice

beans and rice recipe

Everyone should have one. A household absolutely shouldn’t be asked to run without it. A great beans and rice recipe, that is! Beans and rice are cheap, healthy and a wonderful comfort food.

This beans and rice recipe is simple, consisting of only pantry ingredients. I make it every week for my husbands lunches. Left overs are used as a side to accompany any Tex-mex dishes that are on the dinner menu for the week.

I made it to adulthood without eating a singular solitary bean (green beans excluded). There were no black beans, no chick peas, no refried beans, nope not even baked beans or hummus or chili! Why did I eschew these lovely legumes? My father hates beans and for that reason they weren’t served in family meals. It took be a couple of years of living on my own to give them a try. If only I had some bean cooking chops I have now I could have saved some serious cash on food in my college days!

Fast forward a few more years and I love beans in all forms.  A nice spicy bowl of beans and rice topped with cheese is one of my favorite comfort foods. I would still eat beans and rice on the regular, even if I were a bajillionaire.

Frugal Cheap Healthy Beans and Rice Recipe

Beans and Rice Recipe

Makes 5-6 large servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb or brown rice (about 2.5 cups dry rice) {$0.99}
  • 1 pinch salt {negligible}
  • 1 Tablespoon cooking oil or melted butter {negligible}
  • 4 cups of cooked beans (prepared from dry or canned drained and rinsed). Black beans, pinto beans, kidney or white beans  or a combination of those. {$1.36}
  • 1 12.5 oz can of rotel or canned diced tomatoes and jalapenos {$0.49}
  • 1 batch of this DIY taco seasoning {$0.63}

Total: $3.47, or $0.69 per serving

Method:

Cook the rice in a large soup pot per the package instructions. This will call for 2 parts water for 1 part rice. Simmer with the lid on for 45-50 minutes along with a pinch of salt and a Tablespoon of oil. I cheat and stir the rice occasionally so the rice on the bottom of the pot doesn’t stick and burn.

Once the rice is prepared add in the beans, canned tomatoes and jalapenos and taco seasoning and mix well.

Half a jar of salsa can be substituted for the tomatoes and chilis if you have some leftover salsa in the fridge. Waste not, want not! These beans and rice are good as is. They are also great topped with cheese, sour cream or shredded lettuce. Or all of those things!

While this is very humble fair, I am sharing my beans and rice today at Fiesta Friday. The co-hosts this week are Natalie @ Kitchen, Uncorked and Hilda @ Along The Grapevine. I hope to see you there!

 

Do you have a favorite beans and rice recipe?

Was there an entire segment of the food world that you were blind to before you were an adult? Please tell me I’m not the only one!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Beans and rice are nice

  1. Happy FF! I love this recipe! It sounds like it could be a staple in almost any household, especially with how easy it is to keep the ingredients in the pantry. Hope you have a fabulous weekend!

  2. I don’t remember eating a lot of beans growing up, with the exception of Boston baked beans. Now though, I make sure to include various beans and pulses into our menu at least once a week. This recipe sounds like another great one to try. Happy FF!

  3. What a great concept breaking down the cost for people. Agree totally rice and beans are a must! I have added Barley, Farro and quinoa to our pantry staples recently. Thank you for sharing and for stopping by our BRAND NEW BLOG! Ugh the hard work is setting it up. Hope to see you again soon (once we’re rolling!)

Leave a Reply

