2016 Goals Update #4

Normally I don’t make New Year’s resolutions but I thought it would be fun to set some goals this year and track them to see how I’m doing as the year goes on.

I have been doing a weekly update of my 2016 goals. Doing a weekly post kept me accountable for my goals frequently enough to make and reinforce new habits. Now that I have been at it for a month plus, I think it is time to take these updates down to once per month.

  1. Eat healthier: By healthier I mean much less sugar and processed carbs and much more nutrient rich veggies. I am back on track for eating healthy this week. Other than a once/ week cheat of frozen pizza and a daily treat of a small piece of dark chocolate added sugar, has been almost eliminated from my diet. This single change helped me get rid of that pesky last five pounds of baby weight.
  2. Exercise more: 5 days per week sounds like a good place to start.We had a break in the weather so 5 exercise sessions per week were no problem. I excised twice per day on the weekend with walking outside and yoga on almost every other day.I wish I could appreciate a beautiful day year round the way I appreciate it in spring!
  3. Read 20 Books in 2016: I finished reading Money Saving Secrets of the Amish by Lorilee Craker. I enjoyed it so much that I requested it again from the library. There were so many cute anecdotal stories woven in with practical money saving tips. I also read Rich Habits by Thomas Corley. He is a CPA who consolidated the rich habits of his wealthy clients and the poverty habits of his not so successful clients into a concise list/program. While I appreciate the message and will likely implement some of his suggestions, I was underwhelmed by this book. The fiction stories that illustrate his thesis are heavy handed and in my opinion, unnecessary. I prefer non-fiction books so that might color my opinion. So far I’ve also read Eating on the Wild Side,  Midnight in SiberiaDearie which is a Biography about Julia Child and The Wright Brothers by David McCullough.
  1. Make homemade or custom gifts:  I also think that giving something handmade or custom stands out as special and thoughtful. No updates here!
  2. Expand my cooking skills: I saved the best for last! In concert with goal number 1, I hope to use less packaged foods, which tend to have added sugar and other junk. Specific things I hope to learn to make include: marinara/red sauce, vinaigrette, and sushi. Nothing new here either!

I hope to see you back here for updates on how I’m doing. Keep me accountable! Did you set any goals for the New Year? How are they coming along?

See my original 2016 goals post here.

Leave a Reply

