blood orange salad with honey mustard vinaigrette

Honey Mustard Vinaigrette Dressing Recipe

One of my “goal” recipes to master for 2016 was a good Vinaigrette. I love this Honey Mustard Vinaigrette recipe, made with red wine vinegar, brown mustard and olive oil goodness. The garlic gives it a nice pungent bite so you don’t need too much dressing to get great flavor on your greens.

 

Alrighty. Lets make some dressing!

Honey Mustard Vinaigrette Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons stone ground mustard
  • 3 Tablespoons honey
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • A pinch of black pepper
  • 1 Cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Directions:

Mix the vinegar, mustard, honey, salt, garlic and black pepper in a large mixing bowl. Gradually whisk in a thin stream of the olive oil until the mixture is emulsified. If a layer of oil begins to form on top of the mixture, stop adding oil and continue to whisk until the layer of oil is incorporated. Then resume adding the rest of the oil.

I store the dressing in a mason jar in the fridge. I can say it keeps well for at least a week. I have always used it up in a week’s time.

If you are trying to watch your calorie intake or (like me) you just hate globs of dressing in one bite of salad and naked leaves in the next – try this trick out.

Put a little bit of dressing in the bottom of a very large bowl. I think about one tablespoon per two side salads or one tablespoon per dinner plate sized portion of salad is about right. A little goes a long way!

Honey Mustard Vinaigrette

stretching salad dressing

Then toss the salad leaves with a pair of tongs. A thin layer of dressing will distribute all over the leaves. Yummy! I leave off any chunky salad toppers until after tossing with the dressing. They tend to sink to the bottom when the salad is tossed with the tongs.

blood orange salad with honey mustard vinaigrette

Angie’s recent post on Fiesta Friday reminded me that blood oranges are in season. I picked some up while I was at the grocery store that afternoon. I tossed up spinach and baby arugula with my go-to vinaigrette and topped with blood orange, cara-cara orange and zima tomato slices and finished it off with feta cheese. Citrus and dark leafy greens were meant to be together, I think.

winter salad with honey mustard vinaigrette and blood oranges

healthy spinach and arugula salad with honey mustard vinaigrette

I do believe I’ll bring this lovely creation to Fiesta Friday. The co-hosts this week are Steffi @ Ginger & Bread and Andrea @ Cooking With a Wallflower. I hope to see you there!

What is your favorite salad dressing? Do you buy it in a bottle or make it yourself?

 

7 thoughts on “Honey Mustard Vinaigrette Dressing Recipe

  1. It looks absolutely stunning! I agree with you on working hard to get a good vinaigrette recipe as it makes or breaks a salad. Yours reads delicious – I love the stone ground mustard!
    Happy Fiesta Friday!
    Ginger x

  2. Pingback: 2016 Goals: Update #3 | Too Zesty!

Leave a Reply

