Frugal clean eating four bean chili recipe.

Frugal Healthy Vegetarian Four Bean Chili Recipe: A recipe review

I think my favorite part of this recipe from The Gracious Pantry is the short list of simple, cheap ingredients. Every ingredient in the recipe is available at Aldi, which is a HUGE bonus.

This recipe is nearly bullet proof. I have tried it on the stove top, or in the slow cooker. I have tried the Vegetarian version. I have also tried it with ground turkey in place of some of the beans. I have used dried beans that I precooked as well as canned beans. I have swapped out fire roasted tomatoes for some of the diced tomatoes, or in one case a can of tomato sauce in place of one can of diced tomatoes because of a grocery planning fail. The results were all fantastic.

I am used to making chili with a list of more than a dozen ingredients and at least 6 different spices. Recipes with lots of ingredients can get expensive even if each item is fairly frugal because you have to keep so much on hand. This recipe had two spices, which I thought was crazy but it totally works!

The only thing I couldn’t resist adding to was a can of diced jalapenos and tomatoes for some extra heat. What can I say? I like spicy!

So what are you waiting for?  Get your can opener ready and make the 10 minute stove top version. Or throw everything on the list into your slow cooker. The results are sure to please!

Frugal clean eating four bean chili recipe.

Frugal clean eating four bean chili recipe.

Healthy vegetarian chili recipe

Ingredients list:

  • Black Beans
  • Cannellini or Navy beans
  • Kidney Beans
  • Pinto Beans
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Diced or fire roasted Tomatoes
  • Diced tomatoes with Jalapenos (my addition)
  • Cumin
  • Chili Powder
  • Salt
  • Vegetable broth (you could sub chicken or water as well)

Check out the recipe here.

I’m bringing this crowd pleaser to Fiesta Friday , Lily @ Little Sweet Baker and Julianna @ Foodie On Board are my co-hosts this week. I hope to see you there!

Frugal clean eating four bean chili recipe.

Frugal clean eating four bean chili recipe. Every ingredient in this simple recipe is available at Aldi!

 

5 thoughts on “Frugal Healthy Vegetarian Four Bean Chili Recipe: A recipe review

  1. Pingback: 2016 Goals: Update #2 | Too Zesty!

  2. Pingback: Cheap and Easy? Dried Beans and the Slow Cooker | Too Zesty!

Leave a Reply

