Orange Muffins and Earl Grey

I’m excited to get back into the swing of posting recipes! I made these muffins for the first time in the brief period between my oven breaking for the first and second time. Orange muffins are the perfect breakfast accompaniment to Earl Grey tea, which is orange scented as well. I bake these off by the double batch so I can freeze one batch of muffins for later.
orange muffins and earl grey tea

 

Orange Scented Muffins:

2 cups AP flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
3/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup oil
zest of one orange (just the orange part, not the white pith)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl or your stand mixer bowl. Combine wet ingredients in a separate bowl and add all at once. Mix it up and divide between 10 muffin tins lined with paper. Bake for 15- 20 minutes.

These muffins are great as is but are also good with 1 cup of chopped fruit added to the batter. Adding fruit will also increase the number of muffins from 10 smallish muffins to 12 largish muffins. I have tried them with chopped fresh cranberries and I cant wait to try them with blueberries or raspberries. What would you add?

I’m bringing these muffins and a pot of tea to the 50th (!) Fiesta Friday. I hope you’ll join me there!

8 thoughts on “Orange Muffins and Earl Grey

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #50 | The Novice Gardener

Leave a Reply

