Granny’s Potato Salad

granny's potato salad

OK. So I should fess up immediately that this is not my granny’s potato salad per se. It is an old fashioned version of potato salad that other people’s grannies seem to make. So lets go with that – it is someone else’s granny’s potato salad.

Also, for the past two Fiesta Fridays I was that person at the party. I just brought a few fun stories but no food! One can only get away with that sort of thing for so long you know!

My rebellion isn’t completely over though. Since I’m officially in denial about summer being unofficially over, I’m bringing a summer cookout favorite to the party. I’ll be over here, eating potato salad while wearing a white outfit, and a big floppy straw hat, pretending labor day has yet to come…

Potato Salad :

6 Medium potatoes cubed and cooked – I prefer not to peel them, if you like them peeled, go for it!

2 Hard boiled eggs – chopped

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/2 cup thinly sliced celery

1-1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

Dressing*

1 cup mayonnaise

2 Tablespoons vinegar

Add the salad ingredients to a large bowl. In a separate bowl mix up the dressing ingredients. Mix together the salad and dressing ingredients.

*I’m picky about the amount of dressing in salads so I like to hold back about a quarter of the dressing when I combine it with the other ingredients. If it is still dry I add the rest. You can put more in but taking it out is pretty hard!

Serves 6-8

Do you think it is silly to stop wearing white after Labor Day? Or is it a serious fashion rule never to be broken?

7 thoughts on “Granny’s Potato Salad

  1. I’m with you…I’m pretending Labor Day hasn’t arrived, I’m wearing white today…and with the temperature over 90 degrees today, I’d gladly eat a big bowl of this potato salad! It sounds perfectly delicious. 😛

  2. Pingback: Best Chili con Carne ever! (Includes vegan version) | Fiesta Friday #32 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Nice summery salad. And it doesn’t matter what the date says, if the weather warrants it, anything goes. And just maybe our attitude will fool the seasons. I still have plenty of things that need to ripen in my garden, so I am in no hurry for the cold weather.

Leave a Reply

