Salmon Burgers with Chipotle Mayo and Avocado

salmon burgers

Is it just me or does it seem like summer is just flying by? I’m trying to cook on the grill as much as possible, because before you know it old man winter will be back to shoo me inside. So I’m making salmon burgers on the grill and I’m bringing these lovelies to Fiesta Friday. I hope everyone looking to stock up on their omega 3’s!

I purchased pre-made salmon burgers a couple of months ago on a whim because they were on sale. They are super convenient and a nice change of pace if you’re burned out on normal burgers. But I thought – I can make this myself. Of course I didn’t want to use bread crumbs (I hate bread crumbs, seriously they are evil) so I mixed up a batch using oatmeal as a binder.

Lo and behold salmon burgers are super easy!

Salmon Burgers – Makes 4 patties
– 1 Can of Salmon, back bones removed
– 1/4 cup oatmeal, I used quick oats
– 1 teaspoon onion powder
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 2 eggs

Mix it all up until in a large bowl until it is uniform and form into four patties. I found that it helped to park them in the fridge for a bit after forming and before they hit the grill.

Suggested toppings:
Sliced avocado and chipotle mayo.

I’ll have to share the recipe for chipotle mayo in a future post. On a side note how did I go my whole life until now without chipotle peppers in my pantry? Honestly, I just don’t know. But let me tell you bob they are awesome/life changing! So much lovely flavor in such a tiny package! I have been in a bit of a culinary funk lately since we cut way back on dairy. Life seemed so dull without cheese – but chipotles, they almost make up for it!

Help me out, what are your favorite dairy free dinner options?

13 thoughts on “Salmon Burgers with Chipotle Mayo and Avocado

  1. Summer is flying by way too fast for me! Not a fan of salmon yet, key word being yet. I think I just don’t enjoy the cooking smell, but I make it a point to eat it whenever I eat out since it’s healthy. Chipotle mayo, on the other hand, I can eat everyday! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Cream Pie | Fiesta Friday #26 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Happy Happy Fiesta Friday!! You’re not kidding! We were just discussing that we’re in the middle of summer the other day. It is so hard to believe, because this past winter was such a hard one, that we never thought that summer would get here….and now…it’s over halfway over!
    Getting as much use out of the grill as we can is the best idea ever….and these salmon burgers look amazing! You made me laugh when you said that breadcrumbs are evil! Lol… too funny! I’m intrigued by the oatmeal as a binder… that sounds very interesting, and I’m thinking it would be delicious! Thank you so much for sharing this awesome recipe with all of us! It is a great recipe to bring to FF’s table this week! Awesome post! ❤

    • I have tried oatmeal as a binder in meatloaf and now in the salmon burgers. It works well! Enjoy the weekend and thanks for stopping by!

  4. Chipotle is awesome, as is your salmon burger recipe! I also discovered ajvar recently, a red pepper and eggplant relish thing from Serbia (I think…), it sure brightens up a sandwich or a plate of vegetables!

    • I’ve never heard of ajvar until just now. I looked it up an it does sound tasty. Do you make it yourself or but it ready made?

Leave a Reply

