Skinny Ranch Dressing – The Solution to a Yogurt Dilemma

skinny ranch dressing

My husband decided he no longer eats yogurt, so we have an unopened 16 oz. container of Greek yogurt in the fridge ready to expire. I also ran out of ranch dressing this week and I’ve been wanting to try out a MYO ranch dressing mix. No time like the present right?

I think this recipe is going to come in handy in the future, as a replacement for ranch seasoning packets, as a dressing or as a dip. I also used the last of the dried dill I harvested from my herb garden last year. No more dill until I can plant some herbs outside… Summer can’t come soon enough!

ranch seasoning mix

I adapted this recipe from mom on a mission’s ranch dressing mix. The greek yogurt makes it non-fat without sacraficing a nice thick texture, but I’m sure sour cream would taste great as a base as well.

Skinny Ranch Dressing:

  • 2 Tbsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp dried dill
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 Cup Nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 2-4 Tbsp water – optional, if you want a thinner consistency

Mix the spices and the yogurt together. If you want a thick dip like consistency stop here. If you want a thinner dressing like consistency, add water 1 tablespoon at a time until you get the consistency you prefer. Different yogurts have different viscosities and plain yogurt would definitely yield a thinner dressing to start with.

diy ranch dressing

Do you make your own salad dressings? What kinds?

 

5 thoughts on “Skinny Ranch Dressing – The Solution to a Yogurt Dilemma

  1. Sounds like a perfect dressing…nothing compares to homemade! I can’t remember the last time I purchased a bottled variety, it’s just too easy to make from scratch. I’ll be giving this a try, as my kids favorite is Ranch.

Leave a Reply

