Homemade Caramel Corn, and a Substitute for Vanilla Extract.

While preparing for Superbowl Sunday, I had some extra time. Rather than just making plain popcorn (the thrifty way), I decided to branch out and give homemade caramel corn a try.  I used this recipe from Gimme Some Oven and it was soooo good. SO. GOOD!

Fair warning this recipe makes a small mountain of caramel corn, and it is addicting. You will eat your weight in this stuff. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

I used white sugar instead of brown, and light corn syrup instead of dark. I added a few handfuls of peanuts into the popcorn caramel mixture. I couldn’t help myself.

One last thing, I used Amaretto instead of vanilla extract. I do that in a lot of baking because, real vanilla extract is pretty expensive and imitation vanilla?… no I’d rather go without, thank you! Another advantage is that vanilla extract comes in teeny tiny bottles, and the Amaretto bottle is huge, comparatively speaking. Since I pretty much just using it for cooking, I may never run out.  Usually where vanilla flavors work well, so does almond. So, its worth a try!

Leave a Reply

