Homemade DIY Yogurt or Greek Yogurt

As I cruise over websites and blogs aimed at those interested in cooking from scratch for health, lifestyle or financial reasons I often see recipes to make foods that are often purchased ready made including bread, homemade tortillas, homemade granola, fresh pasta, tomato sauces and salsas. These all take a little work, but really they aren’t that intimidating.

IMG_3387

Then every once and a while I come across a recipe for homemade yogurt….Scary stuff. It’s part science experiment, part eco system, part cooking. We go through a probably a quart of plain greek yogurt a week at our house. So I thought even though it’s pretty scary, even though I’ll probably mess it up, its worth a try. The ingredients aren’t that expensive. Whats the worst that could happen.

Here’s what you need:

Hardware:
A heat proof large bowl and a small bowl
Measuring utensils
Whisk
Thermometer – I just got an instant read thermometer with an alarm function that can go in the oven. I love love love it!

Software:
Milk – I used 2% today
Nonfat dry milk powder
plain yogurt of your choice – My husband will only eat Fage (faaah-YAY!)

None of that looks to frightening right??? Right?!?
I used the recipe and procedure outlined on this site

I’m including the link because I’m by no means a yogurt making expert, I’m just sharing my experience. So follow the link and read the recipe before trying this out.

Here are some step my step photos

Heating the milk

IMG_3246

Cooling it down

IMG_3262

Mixing in the yogurt starter

IMG_3270

Put it all in heat proof bowl and stash it in the oven with the oven light on and the heating elements OFF, to keep the mixture between 100 and 110 degrees F. Warm and cozy microbes are happy microbes, I guess. Wait a really long time (5-7 hours).

IMG_3318

Now you have yogurt. Strain off the whey with a double layer of coffee filters and chill before eating.

Strain for a couple of hours to get Greek yogurt.

Taah Daah!

IMG_3370

Serve plain or topped with honey, granola or fruit preserves.

Leave a Reply

