Green Tomato Salsa Verde

I have giant tomato plants covered with green tomatoes. They just won’t turn! In attempt to get some red tomatoes before temperatures drop I have been picking green tomatoes so the plants can concentrate their energy on the remaining fruits.

green tomatoes

I can’t waste food that I grew myself. I just put too much effort into nurturing those vines. My husband hates tomatoes so I can forget about trying to serve fried green tomatoes. Even they are delicious.

He will eat salsa though. So salsa verde it is!

– 5 medium green tomatoes

– 2 small or one medium onion

– A teaspoon minced garlic

– 1/4 cup of cilantro chopped. If you don’t like cilantro use parsley.

– Juice of two limes

– 1 to 2 cans of rotel depending on how spicy you like your salsa

– Salt to taste

Slice and grill your green tomatoes and onions. Green tomatoes are very firm so they should be able to hold up to the grill. You can also sauté in a lightly oiled pan until charred if you don’t want to use the grill.

grilled green tomatoes

Once charred, cool and dice or process in the food processor. I processed part of the mixture and diced the rest to keep the texture chunky.

Add the remaining ingredients and salt to taste. I found the one can of rotel was too mild for my taste. One and half cans made it comparable to a medium hot store bought salsa. Two cans would probably be comparable to hot salsa. Also, I used about one teaspoon of kosher salt.

Spoon into containers and refrigerate or freeze.

salsa verde

I put two jars in the fridge for use late this week and the rest in the freezer to be used later.

Do you have any tasty green tomato recipes?

One thought on “Green Tomato Salsa Verde

  1. Pingback: 8 Uses for Mason Jars | Too Zesty!

Leave a Reply

