My New Healthy Habit, Veggie Packets

My new healthy habit: Veggie Packets

I haven’t been doing much creative cooking lately. I am just sticking to old stand by’s and cooking double batches just to keep up this week.

I ran my first race of the year last week, a quarter marathon – so fun! I plan on running a half marathon in the fall. which will be my third half marathon. I used to just run to finish, with no particular time or goal in mind. But since I did my first full marathon last year I am darn sure I can finish. I am spicing it up by trying to improve my time this year.

The other thing I would like to improve in my race training is my nutrition. I could really use a tune up there! And if it results a pound or two of fat loss then all the better! And if that pound or two of fat lost helps my speed, even better still!

Not that I run to lose weight. I didn’t lose any while training for the marathon last year. But really, who cares! I ran a marathon. (BOO-YAH! ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Because working out is about FEELING good not LOOKING good, right?

But I digress. Whether you are trying to tune up your nutrition for a race, or trying to get more healthy foods in your diet just because – I have found this works out great. Having easy access to lots of vegetables for snacking makes it more likely that they will get eaten, just because they are convenient.

Image

When the veggies come home from the grocery store I trim, wash ย and prep them into bite sized pieces. I fill up enough zip top baggies with mixed veggies to last for the week for mine and hubbies lunches. Any remaining prepped veggies go into larger bags for snacking, adding to pastas salads etc.

Image

I buy all the vegetables at Aldi. It’s cheaper than the “regular” grocery store and I really like their produce. We like baby carrots, celery, mushrooms, cauliflower, sweet red and yellow peppers and radishes. When they look good I like cherry tomatoes too. I know I should save the celery scraps for making chicken broth (frugal fail on my part) and whole carrots would be cheaper, but lately our Aldi hasn’t carried whole carrots. Oh well!

The trimmings go into a garbage bowl I keep next to the cutting board so I can make one trip to the compost pile for a whole week’s worth of veggie trimmings (bonus!).

veggie bowl

Now what to dip them in?

I used to use ranch dressing as a dip, which is fine. But since I’m trying to eat healthier, I switched over to salsa as a dip. I have to say I might like it as much or more than ranch. I love spicy food!

Are you trying to eat healthier? Do you have any tips and tricks?

I almost forgot… I’m bringing veggies to Fiesta Friday. Hopefully no one minds!

13 thoughts on “My New Healthy Habit, Veggie Packets

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #15 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Hi there – I am co-hosting Angie’s FF15 with Jhuls this week and wanted to say hello and welcome. Your veggie bags are a genius idea and one that I must implement. I take it that you are in the UK as you mention Aldi (Mumsnet have a great article on what to buy at Aldi by the way – http://www.mumsnet.com/features/the-definitive-aldi-shopping-list) but you also mentioned “garbage” so I am intrigued as to your backstoryโ€ฆcome on and spill the beans!! Congrats on running a quarter marathon – I have great admiration for those who can as I can’t even run for the bus! Ok so that is an exaggeration but dodgy knees and running are not best friends! Anyway welcome to the party – do have a look at the other revellers blogs and I hope you make some new friends too!!

    • Actually, I live in the states. we have Aldi here too. I’ve played around with the idea of doing a round up of recipes made only with Aldi ingredients.

      As far as the garbage bowl its just a big bowl to stash your kitchen scraps in while you cook. Instead of going in the trash I take them out to the compost pile. Because one can never have too much compost! Thanks for hosting this week and thanks for stopping by!

  3. I have not lost weight for four months, too! I meant, is it really possible to stay in the same weight for months? It’s like I ate the same for the last four months. Before, my motivation to workout is to lose weight. But I realized that it’s not a good motivation. I agree with you when you said that working out makes you feel better. I feel the same way, too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Also, it’s good to prepare healthy snacks like this! Nothing can go wrong with grab-n-go healthy snacks, especially for people who are always on the run. I sometimes do this when I have time during weekends. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you for sharing this to us and for having this for FF. Have a wonderful weekend to you and enjoy the marathon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. You are absolutely right! When we open the refrigerator and there are fresh, ready-to-eat, ready-to grab veggies (or fruits), we are eating a lot more… Good idea! I prepare veggie bags for my kids school lunches, but never in advance, or to eat at home. This is a clever idea ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plans: the Pros and Cons | Too Zesty!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan Week of 9/7/14 | Too Zesty!

  7. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan – Week of 9/14/14 | Too Zesty!

Leave a comment