Awesome Pizza Dough and Pizza Rolls

Homemade pizza dough and pizza rolls from scratchFirst off Happy Friday! I’m linking this post up over a Fiesta Friday, one of my favorite link ups. I found this pizza dough recipe last week and I already made it a second time. I know it will be on regular rotation now because pizza dough is so versitile

I was thinking about making some portable food for a road trip last weekend. I stumbled upon this pizza dough recipe over at eat live run and kind of free handed the rest to make pizza rolls. Pizza rolls are great for car trips because they are portable and not very messy to eat. AND packing a meal ahead of time means no stops for fast food, not that I’m an anti-fast food snob or anything. I’ve been doing a lot of traveling for work lately, which means long drives and long hours, which means subsisting on clif bars or burgers and fries from a drive through. So for road trips on my personal time, I’ll pass on the fries for now! This new fast food attitude does have the added benefit of saving money, and probably being a little healthier.

Homemade pizza dough and pizza rolls

Pizza Dough

Adapted from My Favorite Pizza Dough @ Eat Live Run

  • 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup oil (original recipe calls for olive oil, regular cooking oil works as well)
  • 1 1/3 cup warm water
  • 1-1/2 tablespoon yeast
  • 2 tsp sea salt

Mix up all of the ingredients in a stand mixer fitting with a dough hook until the dough becomes smooth and elastic. This only takes a couple of minutes. I love how soft this dough is, and how it isn’t sticky or hard to handle. Once the dough is done kneading cover loosely and allow to rise for about an hour.

Pizza Rolls

  • One pizza dough
  • marinara or pizza sauce
  • cheese ( I like a melting cheese like cheddar or Monterrey jack, and Parmesan)
  • garlic powder
  • Italian seasoning
  • “Toppings” (optional)

Divide pizza dough ball into 8 smaller balls. Press into 6″ circles with your fingers then tug into rectangles roughly 4″ x 8″. I can’t be bothered with rolling pins! Honestly, I don’t own a rolling pin. If I really need to roll something out I just grab a straight sided wine bottle, which always gets quizzical looks from my husband, but I digress.

Spread roughly 2 tablespoons of sauce per rectangle over the dough, avoiding the edges. Sprinkle with garlic powder and Italian seasoning. Sprinkle with as much cheese as you like. Sprinkle with a scant amount of toppings, if using.

Homemade pizza dough and pizza rolls

Fold each rectangle in thirds then pinch closed the open ends and fold under. Place on a silpat sheet on a cooking tray. I found that four rolls would fit on each cookie sheet.

Bake at 425 for around 20 minutes or until lightly browned and the internal temperature reaches at least 190 degrees F.

Homemade pizza dough and pizza rolls

Do you stop for fast food on road trips or plan ahead and pack a meal?

 

14 thoughts on “Awesome Pizza Dough and Pizza Rolls

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #12 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Isn’t it rewarding when you find the perfect recipe, that you just know you’ll use again and again? Thank you for sharing your recipe at Fiesta Friday so we can all enjoy a winner of a recipe! I’m planning on making pizza tomorrow, so your timing is impeccable!

  3. This looks excellent — a perfect pizza pocket for a road trip. I confess, when we do our 500 mile drive to see family once a year, we do stop at the same fast food restaurant and get our favorite chicken sandwich and crosscut fries every time. You’ve inspired me to rethink that plan for this year’s trip TooZesty! I would love to make this and feed my hungry husband as we make the trip. Thank you for bringing this recipe and the idea to the party!

    • Thank you and thanks for stopping by! If you do end up using these for a road trip I hope you enjoy them. The extras can be frozen so you also have ready made meals to come home to after your trip. Happy travels!

  4. I love this easy simple recipe! I can’t do tomatoes myself, but I’ve seen a recipe that spreads olive oil, rosemary, and parmesan over homemade pizza dough that had my mouth watering when I saw it. Gotta try it now with this dough!

    • sorry I can’t email one of these pizza rolls. I’m glad you found this interesting and would love to hear about it if you give the recipe a try! Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

  5. I love making pizza, and these rolls look pretty spectacular.
    I usually pack sandwiches and snacks on the way out (on a road trip) and then scan the highway for places to stop on the way home. The other week we went to Chicago for Spring break and I saw a dairy farm/grilled cheese sandwich place for the way home. Yum.

Leave a Reply

